{76}

May marks the second month where I have gone makeup free for one full week, per my 101 in 1001.  I can’t lie about it; I feel homely.  Really.

Unkempt.  Raggedy.  Homely.

I just can’t believe I have grown so dependent on makeup to turn me beautiful every morning.  The thing is, I love makeup.  Always have.  It was like art for me, painting a masterpiece everytime I drew on my face.  I never realized, though, how accustomed I have grown to feeling only beautiful when I have makeup on.  It’s sad, really.

makeup free mosaic

I am sure I’m not the only one, so now is the time for you all to be honest with me so I don’t feel so alone in this revelation.  What superficial item or task do you rely on and feel like you would be utterly horrendous if you were to go without it for a week??  Have you tried??  What happened/how did you feel/did you return to your old habits with new insight?  Do tell!!

xoxo.jenifriend

~ by jenifriend on May 14, 2009.

12 Responses to “{76}”

  1. Hair products. If I didn’t have hair products in my hair it would be a giant frizz ball! And you look great w/o makeup!!! I hardly wear it – just on special occasions or whenever I feel like it. LOL!

  2. Plucking my eyebrows. Ever since I was called a uni brow in 10th grade I have plucked obsessively. I once tried to go without it so that I could get them waxed and reshaped, but I broke down. I have special mirrors and tweezers. Even a speific time of day when I do it. I just can’t stop!
    I also have a unnatural obession with cheese. But everyone totally should. 🙂

  3. Defintely plucking. And I don’t just mean my eyebrows. Oh, I know this makes me raw and vulnerable. But I did recently read something on Big Mama’s blog about her daughter pointing out a big hair in her chin. And I felt so much better. It’s the sad truth, people. Wild hairs! And I don’t mean blonde or soft.

    I KNOW…ewwwwe!

    • i can’t believe two of you are obsessed with plucking your eeybrows…maybe if you get a REALLY good eyebrow groomer you wouldn’t feel the need to pluck anymore….perhaps??

  4. P.S.
    You’re beautiful!

  5. mascara. i have blonde eyelashes. when I don’t wear mascara people get worried about me, “are you feeling okay”, “you don’t look so good”. thus, i almost always apply mascara.

Leave a Reply

 
