{16} – 4

Much to my disdainment, I’ve really been enjoying this whole baking from scratch once a month goal.  It’s really allowed me to enjoy baking and appreciate the complexities essential to producing a well-baked product.  For example, until July I had never sifted anything.  Anything.  Now, I understand why it’s so dandy to do such a thing…it’s easier to mix everything up!  There were no clumpy gobs of dry mixture hidden amongst the smooth mixture when I was mixing…how many times can I put the word “mix” in one sentence?!  Anyways, on to this months recipe!

FARMHOUSE CHOCOLATE CRINKLES

1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs (I used 5 small)
2 tsps vanilla extract (I ran out of this so I compensated with a teaspoon of brown sugar)

In a large bowl, blend oil and sugar.  Gradually add eggs.  Add vanilla extract.

4 ounces unsweetened dutch-processed cocoa
2 cups flour (I used whole-grain wheat flour)
2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Sift dry ingredients together.  Gradually add flour mixture to oil mixture.  Blend well until free from lumps (which won’t take long if you sift!).  Chill overnight.

1 cup confectioners sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.  Roll dough into 1-inch balls and roll in confectioners sugar.  Place on baking sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Let cool.

THE VERDICT:  Two dozen of these were gone within 24 hours.  You tell me.  :)  Many thanks to Christy over at Sweet Tidings for the recipe!!

untitled

jeni_friend_avatar_transparent_bkgrnd

~ by jenifriend on August 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “{16} – 4”

  1. Whey!!! I want some… !!!

  2. I love these cookies!! One of my many favorites!

  3. These cookies are amazing. I just made a batch & I have just found a new recipe to tuck into my cookbook. I was impatient and tried to make the balls without refrigerating overnight… big mistake! So I popped the bowl of batter in the freezer while the first set was baking, and it’s working much better. Very yummy!

  4. Thanks for the recipe! I’m wrapping up grad school (aka more time on my hands) and all of a sudden all I seem to want to do is bake. My husband keeps joking that my new hobby was supposed to be BIKING not BAKING. But he’s not complaining when he’s eating all the cookies. (: Your site is super-cute!

  5. YUM!!! I want some right now!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

